Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
222

Saying hello on January 8

Snow Mishima Elvis and Verlaine
222

Hello everybody,

I am sitting in my room working on my manuscript, but took a break to say hello. While I did the sun appeared from the clouds and lit up my room. I thought that a good sign. The little bit of snow we received this weekend has melted away, but not the brief happiness for having seen it.

I am reading Poor Things and Sun and Steel. I’m excited to see the film and was happy that both Emma Stone and Lily Gladstone were recipients of the Golden Globe. My deep concerns for the intensifying of wars in our world occupy my thoughts. But still I must do my work and occasionally seek inspiring entertainment.

On the nutrition front, I have added purple sweet potatoes, fresh parsley, beets and a minimum amount of Celtic salt to my diet. Boiling onions and ginger together and letting it steep makes a good medicinal tea. Also taking a walk outside everyday despite the blustering wind. haha. If there is blustering wind.

On Verlaine’s passing day I will include his poem Through interminable land below. I like how he describes the snow as vague, as it seemed on Saturday. Happy New Year everyone, and much gratitude, as ever, to my Subscribers and Founding Members.

The poet Paul Verlaine

Through interminable land

Ennui of the plain,

Vague snow once again

Shimmers like sand.

The sky is copper

Devoid of any light,

You might almost gather

The moon had lived and died.

Floating clouds

Grey oak-trees lift

In near-by woods

Among the mists.

The sky is copper

Devoid of any light,

You might almost gather

The moon had lived and died.

Wheezing crow

You gaunt wolves too,

When north winds blow

How fare you?

Through interminable land

Ennui of the plain,

Vague snow once again

Shimmers like sand.

Patti Smith is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support the work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Discussion about this podcast

Patti Smith
Patti Smith
The reader is my notebook
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Patti Smith