Patti Smith
Patti Smith
100 cities
92
0:00
-1:24

100 cities

Paris
92

Greetings from Paris,

It’s been a long time since I have traveled abroad and it has been wonderful, and yet a bit daunting. I find myself just slightly overwhelmed and it’s very hard to sit and write. But I have not forgotten my responsibilities and will be as diligent as I am able. I thought to send you all a message from Paris and a photograph of one of my favorite spots. I love the Saint Germain church, which I first visited with my sister Linda in 1969. Adjacent to it is a little park inhabited by scores of pigeons. Grey and black, along with a few pure white doves. The doves always make me think of Picasso; the dove was the first image he painted as a child.

In the park is a wonderful monument by Picasso that he created in the memory of his dear friend, the poet Apollinaire. I have visited this park scores of times and am always humbled by this work. It is actually a rendering of the artist Dora Marr, but somehow I always see Apollinaire in the face of the sculpture.

I am recording poetry in Paris with my friend Stefan, from Soundwalk Collective. For those reading The Melting, he is the enigmatic S., who sent me the mystical frequency equipment, including a fine Neumann. Now I am going to record a little poem for you. It is Le Pont Mirabeau, by Guillaume Apollinaire, a lyric piece I have always loved. I am also including a rare recording of Apollinaire reading his poem.

Hoping you have a nice Sunday. Sorry I was errant. I will make it up to you….

Apollinaire remembered by Picasso``````````
92 Comments
Patti Smith
Patti Smith
The reader is my notebook
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Patti Smith