162

Happily talking about nothing

And a poem set by Richard Wright
162

Just saying hello in a new location. Below is a work of the writer Richard Wright. It’s not his birthday, that was September 4th. But a good work to usher in autumn.

1.

I am nobody:
A red sinking autumn sun
Took my name away.

2.

I give permission
For this slow spring rain to soak
The violet beds.

3.

With a twitching nose
A dog reads a telegram
On a wet tree trunk.

4.

Burning autumn leaves,
I yearn to make the bonfire
Bigger and bigger.

5.

A sleepless spring night:
Yearning for what I never had
And for what never was.

Richard Wright at work

Patti Smith is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support the work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

162 Comments
Patti Smith
Patti Smith
Authors
Patti Smith