155

August thoughts

60th anniversary of a Dream, women in translation
155

August 28, marks the 60th anniversary of the historic speech delivered by Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. during the March on Washington. This powerful and visionary speech can be found on the NPR link below.

https://www.npr.org/2010/01/18/122701268/i-have-a-dream-speech-in-its-entirety

August is also Women in Translation Month, so I am mentioning some fine translations and also out great translators, with a special salute to Natasha Wimmer, one of the greatest of all. Sorry about the overuse of the word ANYWAY, I guess I am still a little tired and should have redone this video, but it’s what I did and I always feel like I am talking directly to you. Doing a better one isn’t always better, so here it is. I also am including below the cover of Clarice Lispector’s Too Much of Life.

Perhaps you could offer your discoveries of women in translation….

Natasha Wimmer
Astragal, Weasels in the Attic, Eastbound, Space Invaders.
Too Much of Life by Clarice Lispector

Patti Smith is a reader-supported publication. To receive all new posts and support the work, consider becoming a paid subscriber.

155 Comments
Patti Smith
Patti Smith
Authors
Patti Smith