Patti Smith
Patti Smith
A song for you
334
0:00
-5:47

A song for you

Grateful
334

This is a little song for everyone. I am sorry I have missed a few posts. I will be back on track soon. Lenny Kaye and I recorded this today for you all. Happy Full Moon…….

Grateful

Ours is just another skin 
That simply slips away 
You can rise above it 
It will shed easily 

It all will come out fine 
I've learned it line by line 
One common wire 
One silver thread 
All that you desire 
Rolls on ahead 

Like a ship in a bottle 
Held up to the sun 
Sails ain't going nowhere 
You can count every one 
Until it crashes unto the earth 
And simply slips away 
You can hide in the open 
Or just disappear 

Ours is just a craving 
And a twist of the wrist 
Will undo the stopper 
With abrupt tenderness 
Die little sparrow 
And awake 
Singing 

It all will come out fine 
I've learned it line by line 
One common wire 
One silver thread 
All that you desire 
Rolls on ahead

334 Comments
Patti Smith
Patti Smith
The reader is my notebook
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Patti Smith