154

poem in your pocket day

Tears flow in my heart
154

This is a beautiful little poem by the poet Paul Verlaine. An offering for poem in your pocket day. I am on European time so not very awake, but awake enough to send this along with a welcoming to new subscribers and all good wishes to all.



TEARS FLOW IN MY HEART . 
11 pleure dans mon coeur . , . 

Tears flow in my heart 
As rain falls on the town; 
What languor is this 
That creeps into my heart? 

Gentle sound of the rain 
On earth and roofsl 
For an aching heart 
Is the song of the rain! 

Tears flow senseless 
In this breaking heart. 
With no betrayal? 
This grief is senseless. 

This is the worst sorrow 
Not to know why. 
Without love or hate, 
My heart has all this sorrow. 

translated by. MURIEL KITTEL 

Patti Smith is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

154 Comments
Patti Smith
Patti Smith
Authors
Patti Smith