129

Lost and found

A childhood poem
129

Hello Everybody,

I made this little video the morning after Christmas than it seemed to disappear. But I found it tonight and am sending it. Tomorrow I have a concert in Brooklyn and then another on my birthday. Then most likely I will spend New Years Eve on my own thinking about what I want to accomplish in 2023. I want to simplify my life, study, and write. I haven’t written much lately because I have been extremely active doing other things. But soon it will be time to devote myself to writing.

The little I read in this video was one of the poems that made me want to write. To write in the special language of poetry. I was eight years old and I somehow recognized this special language. It seemed so familiar yet ungraspable. In any event I hope it leads you to the underlying principle of the poem, that seems opposite to what the poet is saying. I thought, as a child, moved to tears, that what the poet was truly feeling was not solely rage, but love.

Just a few more days of 2022. Such a deeply challenging year, hopefully strengthening us for what is yet to come.

129 Comments
Patti Smith
Patti Smith
Authors
Patti Smith