169

Cairo's birthday

A song from the film Dream of Life
169

Hello everyone,

Today would have been Cairo’s 22nd birthday. Needless to say Jesse and I miss our little one but both of us still feel her presence. This is a clip from Steven Sebring’s documentary film Dream of Life. It is from a song by Fabrizio de Andre, a poet songwriter who was so beloved in Italy. Below you can listen to his beautiful song.

Today I am in Sarasota, Florida, returning to Selby Gardens, where orchids abound. I will report later. I am looking out the window, a light much needed rain and swaying palm trees. I am taking a quiet break and then back to work, back to mindfulness of the suffering, back to expressing gratitude for the blessings bestowed by nature.

Swaying palms in Sarasota

Patti Smith is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support the work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

169 Comments
Patti Smith
Patti Smith
Authors
Patti Smith