157

A sort of smithposium

Discovering Rimbaud through Modigliani
157

Hello everyone,

Though late, I wanted to tell you how I learned about Arthur Rimbaud. A simple story, but it’s a true beginning. I know I seem to be talking in semi-slow motion but it’s just because I’ve been writing all day and am a bit internalized. It’s a sleepy night, and for those close to nature, the passing day of Thoreau. The moon is still quite bright. I am going to make a peanut butter sandwich and call it a night. So goodnight everyone.

Below is the stolen book and the blessed and cursed painter.

Illuminations New Directions
Modigliani in Paris

Patti Smith is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

157 Comments
Patti Smith
Patti Smith
Authors
Patti Smith