Patti Smith
Patti Smith
A song for you
131
--:--
--:--

A song for you

This is the girl.
131

Hello everyone! I am sitting with my bass player Tony Shanahan at the Chicago O’hare Airport. We’re about to play the Riot Fest with the rest of the band in a couple hours

September 14th was the birthday of Amy Winehouse. The day she died Tony and I were at the Madrid Airport waiting for our flight home. Much saddened, I wrote Amy a little poem called This is the girl. Some days later we were recording the album Banga in Electric Lady Studios. Tony sat at the piano to play me a piece of music he had just written. I sensed immediately the poem to Amy would be perfect for his piece of music.

So we are offering it here, a bit ragtag, from a quiet space at the airport. Thinking of Amy, the girl who moved us all to tears.

131 Comments
Patti Smith
Patti Smith
The reader is my notebook
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Patti Smith
Recent Episodes
9:42
9:42
14:17
14:17
5:20
5:20
11:40
11:40
6:29
6:29
10:39
10:39